Sewing A DIY Sewing Machine Cover

Whoops, it’s been awhile! Don’t worry, I wasn’t not crafting, just failing at it. I don’t know about you but most Christmases I get myself in way over my head with some elaborate project and end up holed away at 3 am on Christmas Day trying to finish something that the fun wore out of weeks ago. So why wouldn’t I go for it again this year?! Long story short, I decided to knit my brother-in-law socks and even started in November and gave myself deadlines. However, when it came down to crunch time I realized I had fatally flawed the first sock so…I scrapped it all and enjoyed my Christmas instead! I will make those socks though, if it kills me.

Onto what I actually did make! I got a sewing machine for my birthday a year ago (ahem…feel free to post birthday wishes) so right on time, I decided it was time to make a cover for the thing. I felt bad for it gathering dust all year. For some reason I had the fabric in my head immediately so that was the easy part. It was surprising difficult to find a simple, non-cheesy pattern though and I felt I shouldn’t wing it. I used this pattern from McCall’s, minus the horrifying cat motif. It only took like a half yard of fabric and some cord to line the ends. An easy afternoon project and another way to keep dust off the sewing machine (other than actually using it…get it?)

Front view.  It looks a little lumpy because of the machine underneath...and the lumpiness of the cover. Good excuse.

Front view. It looks a little lumpy because of the machine underneath…and the lumpiness of the cover. Good excuse.

From the end.

From the end.

Leave a Reply

