Eiffel Tower Copycat Oil Painting

So my problem when I paint is that I end up being too precise and anal about my paintings so that they a. take me forever to do and b. become no fun at all and stressful instead. I’ve been really trying to break out of that lately and I thought copying the style of a loose and free painting might help. I fell in love with this painting of the Eiffel Tower before I had that idea and decided to try to recreate it. And I don’t want to give the impression that I invented this painting, I definitely copied one. (I found the painting on Pinterest and I guess it is from someone named Aja’s Etsy site, FYI. Fooled me, I thought it could have been a professional famous artist!)

This has been one of the most fun paintings I’ve done and it only took a few hours total to do (maybe like 4 – if that sounds like a lot, for me it isn’t!). It was really great for me to get out of my precise style that can be super limiting and not even fun. I hope I can continue that pattern even when I’m not working from someone else’s work! I think this is one of only a few paintings I’ve completed that I can say I love.

IMG_20130325_141433

The free and painterly style of this really got me to loosen my hand up. I hope it lasts and carries on into other work but if not, at least I have a completed painting I like as a consolation prize.

Leave a Reply

