Super Easy Ceramic Tile Coasters

In spite of the hyperbole, “super easy” is even an understatement here. These things take about 10 minutes from start to finish. I’m still deeply conflicted over this craft and the quality of it but more on that later. I learned how to make these in a HYP (Habitat (for Humanity) Young Professionals) get-together where we upcycled (buzzword alert) junk. So they were free to make (for me). But really, if you don’t already have tiles lying around and no one you know does, I’m sure you can get them really cheap at the store or at somewhere like Habitat ReStore, which is where our supplies came from. (I swear this is not a promotion post but, c’mon, Habitat is awesome.) So cost=$0 but if you’re purchasing things, probably under $10.

image-2

So here is the recipe for personalized coasters!

Ingredients:

  • Tiles (mine are around 4×4 and were leftovers)
  • Mod Podge (you’ll know it by the great 70’s packaging and how fun it is to peel off your fingers)
  • Paper (I used scrapbook paper card stock but I mean, whatever you’ve got and like)
  • Fuzzy anti-scratch stickers (if you don’t know the real name of these or where to find them…good luck to ya)
  • A foam paintbrush

Steps

  1. Grab tiles. Sets of 4 feel complete to me but honesty, if I will probably only use those when I am drinking 4 things at once. On second thought, this might happen more than I think.
  2. You can sand the tiles first but I didn’t and it worked fine. So this step is for overachievers only!
  3. Measure the tiles and decide how wide you want the frame of tile to be around the paper. Cut paper to size. (A scrapbooking sliding cutter with a ruler on it works really well for this.)
  4. Paint the tile with Mod Podge with the brush (a thin layer is all you need).
  5. Place the paper on the tile.
  6. Add a few more layers of Mod Podge on top to seal in.
  7. Stick on the fuzzy stickers (4 per tile naturally, in each corner) so it doesn’t scratch your table and ta da!

Here are closeups of the 2 styles I made.

image image-5

Like I said, this took about 10 minutes, not counting the extra layers of Mod Podge I added in later for safety. They look pretty cute and I like that they are real customizable to your decor and taste. The issue I’ve had so far is a hot beverage did not go over so well and warped the paper a bit. I’m also not sure I love the look. I’m also debating whether it looks too cheap or not.

Input needed! What do you think? Cheap or chic? I’d love to try some variations on this, since it was so cheap and easy. I’m in love with maps so I think putting old maps on the tiles would look great and go with my decor, as well as covering an entire tile or painting it first. I’m not sure what the answer to hot drinks is though and I worry that condensation would do the same. Anyone know of any better sealants? How would you make yours unique? I’d love to hear some ideas!

Leave a Reply

